24 and committed to running it.

A picture of a birthday cake.

From GraphicShunt.com.

I’m 24 now. Well, in technicality speak, I suppose I’m not 24 for another few hours…but I’m writing this after midnight, and since I don’t remember being born (nor do I care to), this is good enough for me. Typically I’m not the type for birthday celebrations and whatnot, I don’t like people changing or creating plans on my account…but tonight I’ve already had a fantastic night, and I have to say there’s something nice about having people recognize/appreciate you.

I stayed pretty low-key tonight, hanging out at a local bar with a friend of mine who is a bartender at my favorite haunt here in town. I’ve already had a fantastic night. There’s something about a bar with karaoke with no judgment that naturally conveys a fantastic atmosphere. It was also the birthday of a couple other people there, so we all had a good time together. Performed Cee-Lo Green’s F*** You (an octave too high) and Billy Joel’s “We Didn’t Start the Fire” (with a friend), and I enjoyed all of it. There’s something about that place that almost feels like a second family sometimes…maybe that’s why everything felt so fantastic tonight.

Still, at 24 I can’t say I feel like I’ve accomplished much. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve worked for a Fortune 100 company, worked my way to promotion with a strong gaming sales company in a pretty short amount of time and all that…but as far as the things that I’m really interested in, writing and whatnot, I haven’t done a whole lot. In fact, I’d say I’ve really let myself down in this department. So, in my usual reboot-heavy fashion (which is funny considering the anti-reboot post I wrote earlier), I’ve decided to try and improve my life going into my 24th year of existence by revising the concept of my “rules for winning.”

Doing the “rules for daily winning” definitely helped me to focus on doing the general concepts of what I wanted by setting daily goals (exercising, reading, writing…), but at the end of all this, I don’t have anything to show for my work. I still remained unfocused and didn’t complete any serious projects. So now, instead of conceptually consigning myself to project completion, I’m going to set definite deadlines for the projects I’m going to tackle and complete. October will be the month where I revise and complete my book from last year’s NaNoWriMo contest, The Summoning. In November I’ll be writing an entirely new book for NaNoWriMo. December will bring about the revision and completion of my NaNo novel from the year before last, The Hero’s Accomplice. Amongst all this, I’ll be working on starting my own video game website which I plan to have launched by the end of the year. I’m sick of not living up to my potential, so this year I’ll be making it happen. I’m really hoping that, if you believe in me and my ability to make these big things happen, that you’ll cheer me on and keep me driven. I know I have a hard time staying focused in general, but I hope to change that with my 24th year here.

To all of you who’ve been here for me the last 23 years, thank you SO MUCH for everything. I couldn’t have made it to where I am without you, and I ask you to stick with me as I try to rein in my energies and focus on what’s important in the future. I hope I’ve made you proud before now, and I plan to continue doing so in the future. Here’s to another 24.

-Josh

Leave a Reply

