Cleaning Up My Act

Today, on the verge of what some will consider to be the eve of the final act of our beloved planet Earth, I’ve made what I would consider a great stride towards advancement in my life: I deleted 2 gigabytes of Lil’ Wayne from my computer. Yep, that’s right; I went into my iTunes and found that I had all that music on my computer (most of which I never once listened to), and I kicked it to the digital curb. It feels refreshing.

People around me have known that for the last week or so I’ve gotten on this big de-junking kick. I’ve moved 4 times in the last year, and I’m simply amazed at the amount of crap that I’ve managed to gather and had to move time and again each time I pick up and relocate. Most of it consists of odd mementos and things that I’ve bought that I swear I’ll use one day, but don’t really want to get rid of right now. But I’m really sick of all the clutter in my life. I’ve gotten so into this de-junking thing that I’m even finally doing some virtual de-junking, trying to delete music and movies from my computer that I know I’ll never use or care to use.

Once more, I’m trying to make better selections about what I let into my life. I went through a pretty big hip-hop phase over the course of the last few months; I listened to Drake and Kanye West practically non-stop. Their music is damned catchy. But then I started really thinking about what they were saying in the lyrics, started thinking about the misogyny and chauvinism. For an English major who claimed to be about women’s rights and equality, I sure wasn’t representing that in my choices of music. So slowly but surely, I’ve started making a conscious effort to clean out my music and listen to more things that I deem positive. A lot more techno, more instrumentals, more 90’s music. (For those of you looking for Pandora stations along those lines, try Ohm-G’s “Island Dream,” Plump DJ’s “Intermission,” or Duncan Sheik’s “Barely Breathing.”) I have to say, I feel a bit more peaceful without all the violence and confrontation in my music.

Overall, I’m just trying to lead a better life than I have before, lead a life that’s more positive and utilizes more of my potential than I have in the past. There are tons of things that I’ve always wanted to do that I haven’t done before; write letters to old teachers thanking them for helping me out, volunteer at schools, finally write a book or two. Perhaps, with enough effort, I’ll be able to get some of those things done.

6 thoughts on “Cleaning Up My Act

  1. It sounds like you’re well on your way to leading a better life. That’s awesome that you have been getting rid of so much clutter, literally as well as figuratively. It’s not easy, but, as you said, it only allows you to live a more positive, productive life. Good luck with whatever comes next. 🙂

  2. This is a very Buddhist idea. I was looking up information about the religion and listening/watching/reading/engaging in positivity brings you one step towards enlightenment. But for me that would mean no more watching Gossip Girl and I’m not quite ready for that.

  3. I realize the irony of this statement considering your explanation for getting rid of it but … WHY DIDN’T YOU GIVE ME ALL YOU’R LIL’ WAYNE MUSIC?

Leave a Reply

