10 Days Later…nothing has happened.

Yep, ladies and gentlemen; pretty much nothing has happened since the last time I wrote. I mean, I’ve come up with a couple ideas here and there, but as far as actually turning any of those ideas into something functional or productive….well, I didn’t get very far. I did beat Assassin’s Creed, though.

In the meantime, I’ve started job searching. For realsies. Though I’m definitely still attached to the idea of starting my own businesses, I’m definitely coming to understand that it takes money to make money, and it’s hard to make money with no job, even though plenty of Craigslist ads claim otherwise. I don’t know if I’m going to go with full-time or part-time employment, but I do know that I’m enjoying being back in the Midwest and seeing my old friends and family again. Definitely missing the sun of California and my Disney/Mimi’s people, though. I think that’s maybe one of the hardest parts of making this work decision, deciding who I want to live around is difficult.

Every time I go somewhere I meet awesome people, people who are willing to help me achieve my goals and are supportive, all those great things. But every time I move, I lose those people. I hate losing those people. Yeah, we’re obviously still friends and drop text messages or Facebook wall posts from time to time, but it’s just not the same. And now that I’m getting older, whatever work I take on will likely have to be something that I stick around and do for a while, maybe a year or so. That’s a little scary to me. Call me commitment-phobic if you wish.

Anyway, here are some significant things in the Life and Times of Me:

  • I applied to Civil Service jobs for EIU, my alma mater. The couple times I’ve gone back to visit I’ve really loved it and felt at home, and I’m thinking that maybe if I can find some decent employment there, I’ll be able to stick around the job and enjoy it.
  • Somebody robbed me. Yeah, and the robbery increased my nerd points, if that’s even possible; apparently somebody hacked into my XBox LIVE account and bought a whole bunch of virtual currency, then transferred them over to another account. Apparently I can’t even get robbed without it being a nerd event. Lost $170 on that one.
  • I’ve started reading comics. Considering that comics are a pretty big part of what I want to get involved in, I’ve started reading a whole bunch of issues to get a sense of storytelling methodology and whatnot. I still need to find artists, though. What I really need to do is write a script or two, but that’s a whole ‘nother story.
  • I’ve seen a lot of my friends from back here in Rockford, and I’ve really loved being here. As odd as it sounds, as often as I call the place The Rock (BOTH because it’s catchy and somewhat prison-like), I’ve loved being around my friends and back in the Midwest climate. It’s been rainy and cold a lot, but it’s really making me appreciate the sunshine when it shows up.

I guess that’ll about take care of this post. I really just thought I should put something in here, remind myself that this still exists….next time on HTML (Hey, That’s My Life, not the coding language): Something Productive! I’ve got some big plans in the works, and I should be getting them moving in the next couple days…you’ll hear about it!

Leave a Reply

